Stagflationsrisiko Nimmt Zu, Bleibt Aber Ein Extremszenario

| Alternatives | Multi Asset | Macro Views

Nach einer kräftigen Erholung der Weltwirtschaft in der ersten Jahreshälfte bereiten die Ereignisse des dritten Quartals – nachlassendes Wachstum und anhaltende Inflation – Sorge und erhöhen das potenzielle Risiko einer Stagflation. Die Stagflation ist ein seltenes Phänomen und das Gegenteil des makroökonomischen Umfelds, das wir in den letzten zehn Jahren erlebt haben. Sie wäre zwar ein Alptraum für die Wirtschaft, die Geldpolitik und die Anleger, ist aber nicht unser Hauptszenario für die kommenden Monate. Dafür wären eine intensivere Fortsetzung der derzeitigen Dynamik und ein deutliches Abbremsen der Wiederbelebung der Volkswirtschaften erforderlich.


 

Breaking Up Is Hard to Do

Neil Sedaka,1962





What’s Next?

Das Schreckgespenst der Stagflation

Das Thema Wiedereröffnung/Reflation, das den Jahresanfang prägte, ist in den letzten Monaten mit der Ausbreitung der Delta-Variante und einem nachlassenden fiskalischen Impuls zum Stillstand gekommen. Wie wir bereits mitgeteilt haben, sind unsere systematischen Wachstumsindikatoren – sowohl die Nowcaster als auch die Newscaster – von einem hohen Niveau abwärts auf ein neutraleres Niveau gesunken. Gleichzeitig blieb unser Inflations-Nowcaster hoch, gestützt durch mehrere Faktoren, darunter die Inputpreise, die Lohninflation und, was besonders wichtig ist, die erwartete Inflation. Über diese Kanäle – Preiserhöhungen, die zu einer inflationären Mentalität führen, bei der Unternehmen ihre Preise anheben und Arbeitnehmer höhere Löhne fordern – verwandelt sich ein „vorübergehender“ Angebotsschock in ein echtes Inflationsszenario. Vor dem Hintergrund eines geringeren – aber immer noch anständigen – Wirtschaftswachstums rückt das potenzielle Risiko einer Stagflation in das Bewusstsein der Anleger.

Ursachen der Stagflation

Stagflation ist in vielerlei Hinsicht ein Alptraumszenario für die Wirtschaft, die Geldpolitik und die Anleger: Das reale Wirtschaftswachstum ist schwach oder sogar negativ, während gleichzeitig die Preise immer weiter steigen, was zu einem niedrigeren Lebensstandard und hoher Arbeitslosigkeit führt. Bruno und Sachs1 entwickelten einen Rahmen für Stagflation, der auf zwei zentralen Bedingungen beruht: (1) ein starker und unerwarteter Anstieg der Preise für extern produzierte Güter, der zu einer Senkung des Lebensstandards in den Importländern führt, und (2) unflexible Löhne, die die Nachfrage nach Arbeitskräften verringern und damit die Arbeitslosigkeit erhöhen. Diese Elemente seien ausschlaggebend für die wenigen Fälle von Stagflation in der Vergangenheit: In den 1970er Jahren in den OECD-Ländern, als das Ölembargo von 1973 die Preise in die Höhe trieb und das ganze Jahrzehnt über andauerte. Abbildung 1 zeigt Wachstum und Inflation in den USA und im Vereinigten Königreich in diesem Zeitraum und verdeutlicht ein ähnliches Muster wie in vielen anderen OECD-Ländern zu dieser Zeit: ein zyklischer Aufschwung Anfang der 1970er Jahre, der durch die Ölkrise (graue vertikale Linie) unterbrochen wurde, woraufhin sich Wachstum und Inflation entkoppelten und Stagflation die Regel wurde.

Abbildung 1: Wachstum und Inflation (1960-1985)
Wachstum und Inflation (1960-1985)
Quelle: Bloomberg, Unigestion, Stand: 30.09.2021

Wie Bruno und Sachs erörtern, trägt die abwärts gerichtete Inflexibilität der Löhne zur Preis-/Lohnspirale bei und kann eine Wirtschaft von einer inflationären Expansion in eine Stagflation verwandeln. Abbildung 2 zeigt, wie die Nominallöhne in den USA in den 1970er Jahren stetig stiegen, da die Arbeitnehmer angesichts höherer Verbraucherpreise höhere Löhne forderten. Dieser Nominallohnanstieg stand jedoch in keinem Verhältnis zu den sich verschlechternden wirtschaftlichen Bedingungen und der geringeren Produktivität, was zu Entlassungen und höherer Arbeitslosigkeit führte. Vor allem aber brach das Reallohnwachstum ein, da die Nominallöhne nicht mit der Wareninflation Schritt halten konnten, was zu einem Rückgang der Realeinkommen und der Lebensstandards führte.

Abbildung 2: US-Löhne vs. Produktivität

US-Löhne vs. Produktivität

Hinweis: Das Produktivitätswachstum ist die jährliche Veränderung des Outputs pro Arbeitsstunde im Unternehmenssektor außerhalb der Landwirtschaft. Quelle: Bloomberg, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, Unigestion, Stand: 30.09.2021.

Wo stehen wir heute?

Um es klar zu sagen: Stagflation ist nicht unser kurzfristiges Kernszenario, sondern eher ein wachsendes Tail-Risiko. Wir müssten eine Fortsetzung der gegenwärtigen Dynamik sehen, vor allem eine Verlangsamung der Konjunkturerholung, um unsere Ansicht zu ändern. Zudem ist hervorzuheben, dass das Beispiel der 1970er Jahre keine perfekte Analogie für heute ist. Die Weltwirtschaft kommt aus einer historischen Periode von Lockdowns heraus, der Ölpreis hat weniger Einfluss auf Einzelpersonen, da die Quelle des heutigen Angebotsschocks vielfältiger ist, und die Geldpolitiker haben aus der letzten Periode der Stagflation gelernt. Angesichts der dramatischen Auswirkungen der Stagflation auf die Märkte werden wir die Situation jedoch weiterhin genau beobachten.

Wie wir bereits mitgeteilt haben, sind die Erzeugerpreise deutlich schneller gestiegen als die Verbraucherpreise, was einen weiteren Aufwärtsdruck auf die Inflation ausübt, wenn die Unternehmen diese zusätzlichen höheren Kosten an die Verbraucher weitergeben. Gleichzeitig ist das Nominallohnwachstum trotz rückläufiger Arbeitslosenzahlen relativ konstant geblieben. In Abbildung 3 wird das Wachstum der Stundenlöhne in den USA mit der Arbeitslosenquote verglichen, wobei die aktuelle Situation (rot) in den Kontext der 70er Jahre (dunkelblau) und der letzten Jahrzehnte (hellblau) gestellt wird. Zwar ist die Datenmenge nach wie vor gering, doch haben die Löhne bisher nicht die umgekehrte Beziehung gezeigt, die man normalerweise kurzfristig erwartet.

Abbildung 3: US-Lohnwachstum vs. Arbeitslosenquote

US-Lohnwachstum vs. Arbeitslosenquote

Quelle: Bloomberg, Unigestion, Stand: 30.09.2021

Wenig Schutz vor dem Sturm der Stagflation

Stagflation ist das Gegenteil des makroökonomischen Umfelds der letzten zehn Jahre: gutes Wachstum und gedämpfter Inflationsdruck. Von diesen Bedingungen profitierten vor allem Nominalanleihen (mit sinkenden Renditen und einer guten Diversifizierung) und Aktien (vor allem solche mit langfristigen Wachstumsaussichten, die von den sinkenden Diskontsätzen profitiert haben). Eine Umkehrung des makroökonomischen Umfelds hin zu einer Stagflation würde jedoch zu einer erheblichen Umkehrung auf diesen Märkten führen. Abbildung 4 zeigt die durchschnittliche monatliche Performance von Growth Assets (Credit Spreads und Aktien), defensiven Assets (Staatsanleihen) und Real Assets (Inflations-Breakeven und Rohstoffe) seit 1999 und vergleicht diese mit ihrer Performance in „Goldilocks“- und „Stagflation“-Monaten. Wie die Grafik zeigt, ist die Streuung zwischen diesen beiden Regimen beträchtlich, was den Übergang von einem Goldlöckchen-Szenario (wie wir es wohl zu Beginn dieses Jahres hatten) zu einem Inflationsschock mit gedrücktem Wachstum für die Anleger schwierig macht

Abbildung 4: Durchschnittliche monatliche Wertentwicklung

Durchschnittliche monatliche Wertentwicklung

Hinweis: „Goldlöckchen“-Monate sind jene, in denen unsere globalen Wachstums- und Inflations-Nowcaster ein geringes bis sehr geringes Risiko einer Rezession oder eines Inflationsschocks signalisierten. „Stagflationsmonate“ sind diejenigen, in denen unser Inflations-Nowcaster ein hohes bis sehr hohes Risiko eines Inflationsschocks anzeigte, unser Wachstums-Nowcaster jedoch signalisierte, dass sich die Wirtschaft nicht in einer starken Expansion befand (geringes bis sehr hohes Rezessionsrisiko)..
Quelle: Bloomberg, Unigestion, Daten vom 31.12.1998 bis 30.06.2019.

Vor den 1970er Jahren galt das Konzept der Stagflation als unmöglich. Tatsächlich ist die Kombination von Bedingungen, die zu einer Stagflation führen, recht selten, so dass viele Anleger keine Erfahrung mit der Verwaltung von Portfolios in solch turbulenten Zeiten haben. Unserer Ansicht nach ist es noch zu früh, um vor einer Stagflation zu warnen, und unser kurzfristiges Makroszenario bleibt positiv: ein Abklingen der Ängste vor dem Coronavirus und ein weiterer wirtschaftlicher Aufschwung. Daher sind unsere dynamischen Exposures im Portfolio sowohl auf wachstumsorientierte Assets, wie Aktien und Credits, als auch auf Real Assets, insbesondere Inflations-Breakeven und zyklische Rohstoffe, ausgerichtet. Sollte jedoch das Risiko einer Stagflation zunehmen, werden wir unser Growth Asset Exposure schrittweise reduzieren, um solch einen schwierigen Sturm zu überstehen.

Unigestion Nowcasting

Wachstums Nowcaster

World-Growth-Nowcaster

Inflations Nowcaster

World-Inflation-Nowcaster

Marktstress Nowcaster

Market Stress Nowcaster

Wöchentliche Veränderung

  • Letzte Woche erholte sich unser World Growth Nowcaster leicht mit einer Verbesserung des US-Wachstums.
  • Unser World Inflation Nowcaster war stabil mit kleinen, sich ausgleichenden Veränderungen in den einzelnen Ländern.
  • Unser Marktstress-Nowcaster hat sich dank der verbesserten Liquidität und der etwas geringeren Volatilität nach unten verschoben.

Quellen: Unigestion. Bloomberg, Stand: 08. Oktober 2021.

1Michael Bruno and Jeffrey Sachs, Economics of Worldwide Stagflation. Cambridge, MA.
Harvard University Press, 1985.


Wichtige Hinweise

Dieses Dokument wird Ihnen auf vertraulicher Basis zur Verfügung gestellt und darf weder ganz noch teilweise an andere Personen verteilt, veröffentlicht, reproduziert oder weitergegeben werden.

Die in diesem Dokument dargestellten Informationen und Daten können allgemeine Marktaktivitäten oder Branchentrends erörtern, sind jedoch nicht als Prognose, Forschung oder Anlageberatung zu verstehen. Es handelt sich nicht um eine Finanzwerbung und stellt kein Angebot, keine Aufforderung oder Empfehlung irgendeiner Art dar, in die Strategien oder in die Anlagevehikel zu investieren, auf die es sich bezieht. Einige der hierin beschriebenen oder angedeuteten Anlagestrategien können als hochriskante und nicht ohne weiteres realisierbare Anlagen betrachtet werden, bei denen es zu erheblichen und plötzlichen Verlusten bis hin zum Totalverlust der Anlage kommen kann.

Die in diesem Dokument zum Ausdruck gebrachten Anlageansichten, Wirtschafts- und Marktmeinungen oder -analysen geben die Einschätzung von Unigestion zum Zeitpunkt der Veröffentlichung wieder, ohne Rücksicht auf das Datum, an dem Sie auf die Informationen zugreifen können. Es gibt keine Garantie dafür, dass diese Ansichten und Meinungen richtig sind, noch erheben sie den Anspruch, eine vollständige Beschreibung der Wertpapiere, Märkte und Entwicklungen zu sein, auf die in diesem Dokument Bezug genommen wird. Alle hier bereitgestellten Informationen können ohne vorherige Ankündigung geändert werden. Soweit dieser Bericht zukunftsgerichtete Aussagen enthält, sind diese Aussagen zukunftsgerichtet und unterliegen einer Reihe von Risiken und Unwägbarkeiten, einschließlich, aber nicht beschränkt auf die Auswirkungen von Konkurrenzprodukten, Marktakzeptanzrisiken und anderen Risiken.

Die hierin enthaltenen Daten und grafischen Informationen dienen lediglich der Information und können aus Quellen Dritter stammen. Obwohl wir die aus öffentlichen und Drittquellen stammenden Informationen für zuverlässig halten, haben wir sie nicht unabhängig verifiziert und können daher nicht für ihre Richtigkeit oder Vollständigkeit garantieren. Infolgedessen gibt Unigestion in dieser Hinsicht weder eine ausdrückliche noch eine stillschweigende Zusicherung oder Gewährleistung ab, und es wird keine Verantwortung oder Haftung übernommen. Sofern nicht anders angegeben, ist die Quelle Unigestion. Die Wertentwicklung in der Vergangenheit ist kein Indikator für die zukünftige Wertentwicklung. Alle Investitionen beinhalten Risiken, einschließlich des Totalverlustes für den Anleger.

Unigestion SA ist von der Eidgenössischen Finanzmarktaufsicht (FINMA) zugelassen und reguliert. Unigestion (UK) Ltd. ist von der britischen Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) autorisiert und reguliert und ist bei der Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) registriert. Unigestion Asset Management (France) S.A. ist zugelassen und wird reguliert durch die französische „Autorité des Marchés Financiers“ (AMF). Unigestion Asset Management (Canada) Inc. mit Niederlassungen in Toronto und Montreal ist in neun kanadischen Provinzen als Portfoliomanager und/oder Exempt Market Dealer sowie in Ontario und Quebec als Investmentfondsmanager registriert. Seine Hauptaufsichtsbehörde ist die Ontario Securities Commission (OSC). Unigestion Asset Management (Düsseldorf) SA wird von der „Autorité des Marchés Financiers“ (AMF) und der „Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht“ (BAFIN) mitreguliert.

Stagflation Risk is Rising But Remains a Tail Scenario

Unigestion Adaptive 10

A Global Macro Strategy


>> Discover more on our Global Macro Strategy
>> Adaptive Strategy Profile

After a strong global economic recovery in the first half of the year, the events of Q3 – weakening growth and continuing inflation – have become concerning and raise the potential risk of stagflation. Stagflation is rare and the opposite of the macroeconomic environment we have experienced over the last decade. While it would be a nightmare outcome for the economy, for monetary policy and for investors, it is not our core scenario over the coming months. For this, we would need to see a more intense continuation of the current dynamic and a significant stalling in the reopening of economies.


 

Breaking Up Is Hard to Do

Neil Sedaka,1962





What Happened?

The rising spectre of stagflation

The reopening/reflation theme that characterised the start of the year has stalled over the last few months with the spread of the Delta variant and a fading fiscal impulse. As we have communicated, our systematic growth indicators – both Nowcasters and Newscasters – have been heading south from elevated to more neutral levels. At the same time, our Inflation Nowcaster has remained elevated, supported by multiple factors including Input Prices, Wage Inflation, and, importantly, Expected Inflation. It is through these channels – pockets of price increases leading to an inflationary mindset that sees a broader rise in prices from firms as well as employees asking for higher wages – that a transitory supply shock transforms into a genuine inflationary scenario. With the backdrop of lower – but still decent – economic growth, the potential risk of stagflation is moving up in investors’ minds.

A framework for the drivers of stagflation

Stagflation is, in many ways, a nightmare scenario for the economy, monetary policy, and investors: real economic growth is low or even negative at the same time that prices move ever higher, leading to lower standards of living and high unemployment. Bruno and Sachs1 presented a framework for stagflation that rests on two key conditions: (1) a large and unexpected increase in prices for inputs produced externally requiring a reduction in the standard of living for importing countries, and (2) wage inflexibility that reduces demand for labour and thereby increases unemployment. They argue that these elements are critical to understanding the rare cases of stagflation in the recent past: OECD countries in the 1970s, when the oil embargo of 1973 hit prices and reverberated throughout the decade. Figure 1 charts growth and inflation for the US and UK during the period, highlighting a similar pattern seen with many other OECD countries at the time: a cyclical recovery in the early 1970s derailed by the oil crisis (grey vertical line), after which growth and inflation decoupled and stagflation became the emergent regime.

Figure 1: Growth and Inflation (1960-1985)

Source: Bloomberg, Unigestion, as of 30.09.2021

As Bruno and Sachs discuss, the downward inflexibility of wages feeds into the price/wage spiral and can shift an economy from an inflationary expansion to stagflation. Figure 2 shows how US nominal wages during the 1970s continued to grow steadily, as employees demanded higher wages in the face of higher consumption prices. However, this nominal wage growth was out of line with deteriorating economic conditions and lower productivity, leading to layoffs and higher unemployment. Importantly, real wage growth collapsed as nominal wages could not keep up with goods inflation, leading to lower real incomes and standards of living.

Figure 2: US Wages vs Productivity

US Wages vs Productivity

Reading note: Productivity Growth is the year-over-year change in the output per hour of labour in the non-farm business sector.
Source: Bloomberg, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, Unigestion, as of 30.09.2021.

Where are we today?

Let us be clear: stagflation is not our near-term core scenario but rather a growing tail risk. We would need to see a continuation of the current dynamic, in particular economies stalling in their reopening, to change our view. It is also important to point out that the example of the 1970s is not a perfect analogy for today. The global economy is coming out of an historic period of lockdowns, the price of oil has less of an impact on individuals as the source of today’s supply shock is more varied, and monetary policymakers have gained the experience of the last period of stagflation. However, given the dramatic impact of stagflation on markets, we continue to assess the situation closely.

As we have communicated previously, producer prices have risen significantly faster than consumption prices, providing further upward pressure on inflation if firms pass on these additional higher costs to consumers. At the same time, nominal wage growth has remained relatively constant despite unemployment figures receding. Figure 3 compares the growth in hourly wages in the US against the unemployment rate, placing the current situation (red) into the context of the 1970s (dark blue) as well as the last couple of decades (light blue). While the number of data points remains low, thus far wages have not exhibited the inverse relationship typically expected over the short run.

Figure 3: US Wage Growth vs Unemployment Rate

Source: Bloomberg, Unigestion, as of 30.09.2021

Few shelters in the stagflation storm

Stagflation is, by and large, the opposite of the macroeconomic environment we have had for most of the last decade: decent growth and muted inflation pressures. Thus, investors have moved into positions that benefited the most over the last decade: nominal bonds (where yields continued to grind lower and have offered diversification) and equities (especially those with long-term growth prospects that have benefited from falling discount rates). However, the reversal of the macro environment to a period of stagflation would lead to a significant reversal in these markets. Figure 4 shows the average monthly performance of growth (credit spreads and equities), defensive (government bonds), and real assets (inflation breakeven and commodities) since 1999 and compares that to their performance in “Goldilocks” and “Stagflation” months. As the chart demonstrates, the dispersion between these two regimes is significant, making the transition from a Goldilocks scenario (as arguably we had at the beginning of this year) to an inflation shock with depressed growth a challenging one for investors.

Figure 4: Average Monthly Asset Performance

Average-Monthly-Asset-Performance

Reading Note: “Goldilocks” months are defined as those where our Global Growth and Inflation Nowcasters signalled low to very low risk of recession or an inflation shock. “Stagflation” months are defined as those where our Inflation Nowcater signalled high to very high risk of an inflation shock but our Growth Nowcaster signalled the economy was not in a strong expansion (low to very high recession risk).
Source: Bloomberg, Unigestion, data from 31.12.1998 to 30.06.2019.

Before the 1970s, the concept of stagflation was thought to be impossible. Indeed, the combination of circumstances that give rise to stagflation are quite rare, and so many investors have not had the experience of managing portfolios during such tumultuous times. In our view, it remains too early to sound the alarm on stagflation and our near-term macro scenario remains positive: a subsiding of coronavirus fears and continued economic reopening. Thus, our dynamic portfolio exposures are tilted towards both growth-oriented assets, such as equities and credit, and real assets, in particular inflation breakevens and cyclical commodities. We expect the real asset exposure will be with us for some time, but if the risk of stagflation rises, we will progressively reduce our growth exposure to ride out the difficult storm.

Unigestion Nowcasting

World Growth Nowcaster

World-Growth-Nowcaster

World Inflation Nowcaster

World-Inflation-Nowcaster

Market Stress Nowcaster

Market-Stress-Nowcaster

Weekly Change

  • Last week, our World Growth Nowcaster recovered modestly with an improvement in US growth.
  • Our World Inflation Nowcaster was steady with small and offsetting changes across countries.
  • Our Market Stress Nowcaster shifted lower thanks to improved liquidity and somewhat lower volatility.

Sources: Unigestion, Bloomberg, as of 08 October 2021.

1Michael Bruno and Jeffrey Sachs, Economics of Worldwide Stagflation. Cambridge, MA.
Harvard University Press, 1985.


Important Information

This document is provided to you on a confidential basis and must not be distributed, published, reproduced or disclosed, in whole or part, to any other person.

The information and data presented in this document may discuss general market activity or industry trends but is not intended to be relied upon as a forecast, research or investment advice. It is not a financial promotion and represents no offer, solicitation or recommendation of any kind, to invest in the strategies or in the investment vehicles it refers to. Some of the investment strategies described or alluded to herein may be construed as high risk and not readily realisable investments, which may experience substantial and sudden losses including total loss of investment.

The investment views, economic and market opinions or analysis expressed in this document present Unigestion’s judgement as at the date of publication without regard to the date on which you may access the information. There is no guarantee that these views and opinions expressed will be correct nor do they purport to be a complete description of the securities, markets and developments referred to in it. All information provided here is subject to change without notice. To the extent that this report contains statements about the future, such statements are forward-looking and subject to a number of risks and uncertainties, including, but not limited to, the impact of competitive products, market acceptance risks and other risks.

Data and graphical information herein are for information only and may have been derived from third party sources. Although we believe that the information obtained from public and third party sources to be reliable, we have not independently verified it and we therefore cannot guarantee its accuracy or completeness. As a result, no representation or warranty, expressed or implied, is or will be made by Unigestion in this respect and no responsibility or liability is or will be accepted. Unless otherwise stated, source is Unigestion. Past performance is not a guide to future performance. All investments contain risks, including total loss for the investor.

Unigestion SA is authorised and regulated by the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA). Unigestion (UK) Ltd. is authorised and regulated by the UK Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) and is registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Unigestion Asset Management (France) S.A. is authorised and regulated by the French “Autorité des Marchés Financiers” (AMF). Unigestion Asset Management (Canada) Inc., with offices in Toronto and Montreal, is registered as a portfolio manager and/or exempt market dealer in nine provinces across Canada and also as an investment fund manager in Ontario and Quebec. Its principal regulator is the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC). Unigestion Asset Management (Copenhagen) is co-regulated by the “Autorité des Marchés Financiers” (AMF) and the “Danish Financial Supervisory Authority” (DFSA). Unigestion Asset Management (Düsseldorf) SA is co-regulated by the “Autorité des Marchés Financiers” (AMF) and the “Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht” (BAFIN).

Unigestion Adaptive 10

A Global Macro Strategy


>> Discover more on our Global Macro Strategy
>> Adaptive Strategy Profile